NEW JERSEY – A state law passed in 2012 could cost drivers $1,000 this Winter.
New Jersey law N.J.A.C. 7:2-14,15, which was last revised in 2012, only allows for 3 minutes of idling your car at any time. That means any driver who warms their car up for more than 3 minutes could be fined $250 by police, for the first violation, $500 for the second violation, and $1,000 for the third and each subsequent violation.
There are exceptions to the law, however, which cover many other reasons for idling. Exceptions include vehicles stopped in traffic, vehicles waiting for inspection, vehicles being repaired, emergency vehicles, and additional obscure reasons. To see complete details about the law and a complete list of exceptions, CLICK HERE.
For further questions, call the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection’s Bureau of Mobile Sources at (609) 292-7953.